Tags

, , , ,

I am always looking for cake recipes which include fresh fruits. Oh yes, I am not a big fan of chocolate cakes(don’t start booing), although I always end up baking them, all thanks to my family and friends.

A few days back I came across this recipe on epicurious for orange cake and I immediately book marked it because I simply looooovvvvveeee oranges. At first I was skeptical as the recipe did not include a picture of the finished cake and i always feel doubtful about trying recipes without pictures.  I even had a Rachel Allen recipe for  iced orange cake from TLC but somehow never got around to making it.

I was torn between experimenting with a recipe with no pictures or going with Rachel allen whose recipes have never gone wrong for me.

But I decided to be brave and went along with the epicurious  as it had orange juice along with the zest in the batter unlike that in Rachel allen’s recipe. And boy was I glad!!!  While the cake was baking in the oven the kitchen was filled with this amazing citrusy sweet orange smell. Just like heaven.

I coated the cake with a clear layer of a thin glaze of icing sugar mixed with fresh orange juice to give it that extra orange kick.

This no-frills cake was perfectly moist with a subtle sweetness of orange and I just couldn’t wait to cut a huge slice and enjoy it with a cup of hot tea.

Orange Cake Recipe

Adapted from Epicurious

Baking Temp: 175 C or 350 F

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup softened unsalted butter
  • 3/4 cup castor sugar
  • 4 tsp orange zest,grated
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup sour cream (I used amul cream with 1tsp lime juice added to it)
  • 1/4cup fresh orange juice
  • 1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
Directions:
  1. Preheat the oven to 175c /350 F
  2. Lightly butter a 8″ round/ square tin and line its base with parchment/butter paper
  3. Cream (use a rounded wooden spatula or a whisk or a whisk attachment in an electric mixer) together the butter, sugar and the zest till it becomes soft, light and a little fluffy.
  4. Whisk in the eggs, one at a time
  5. Add in the orange juice and sour cream and whisk till incorporated.
  6. Add in the dry ingredients (flour,baking powder, baking soda and salt).
  7. Whisk till mixed thoroughly but do not over whisk.
  8. Pour the batter in the prepared cake tin and bake in the preheated oven for about 30 mins till a skewer inserted in the cake comes out clean.
  9. Serve. (options : dust with icing sugar , coat with a glaze or orange cream cheese frosting).
