Tags

, , , , , , ,

I am a soup person. I do not find soups boring and I can actually eat soup for every meal, provided the soups are made with that intention.

Soups for me are the ultimate comfort food and nothing warms your heart and belly, more than a bowl of steaming hot soup on a cold winter day.

Give me a vegetable and I can turn it into a soup. I don’t really understand when people ask me how to make a particular soup and when I tell them exactly how easy it is, they somehow seem to be disappointed with the simplicity.

But that is how it works for me, I like to keep it simple.Sometimes, I just raid the fridge and dice up every vegetable available and put it in the soup and turn it into a nice noodle soup or a minestrone.

I have even managed to turn my family, who by the way, are the most difficult people to please, into soup likers (soup lovers,can be a very strong word for them, as everyone in my family is like a food critic).

One of my family favourites is carrot soup.When I had cooked the carrot soup the first time, I had honestly not expected such a positive response. But I was pleasantly surprised.

I like most of my soups to be of thin consistency almost broth-like and completely despise the use of cornstarch to thicken the soups (oh yes, I have strong opinions about cornstarch as a thickener). With carrot soup I just like it when it coats the spoon, not too thick and not too thin.

I add just a tiny amount of mustard  to counteract the intense sweetness of the carrots. It cuts the sweetness a little without affecting the flavour.

P.S. I have used yogurt, not cream as garnish (keeping it healthy).

Carrot Soup Recipe

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • Carrots- 500gm, peeled and roughly sliced
  • Red onion- 1 large, roughly sliced
  • Garlic – 3 cloves, cut in halves
  • Vegetable stock/Water- 4 ½ cups
  • Olive oil- 2 tsp
  • English mustard (any mustard paste can be used)- 1/2 tsp
  • Salt- 1 ¼ tsp
  • Ground black pepper- ½ tsp

Directions:

  1. In a sauce pan, heat the olive oil and add the garlic.
  2. Once it browns, add the sliced onion and sauté till translucent.
  3. Add the carrots and sauté for about a minute.
  4. Add 3 cups of stock/water to the pan and let it come to a boil. Then put on the lid and let it simmer for about 30 minutes.
  5. After 30 minutes when the carrots become soft, take the pan off the stove.
  6. Add all the contents of the pan into a blender and blend till it becomes smooth.
  7. Put the blended contents into pan again and back on the flame.
  8. Add the mustard, salt, pepper and the remaining 1 ½ cup stock/water.
  9. Let the soup come to a simmer. Serve hot.

